Add your review
Existing reviews
Cute book!
My favorite part about this book is the bright colors in the illustrations. The pictures are so cute and definitely add to the stories. The stories are the perfect length and are fun, new stories that you haven't heard before. The animals in the stories are so cute, and they tell of their great friendships. Love this new book!
Date: 12/28/2015 11:33 PM
perfect for bedtime
we started reading this the night it came and I fell in love with it. Certainly makes bedtime story time easy and the stories are just the right length. Our favorite so far is Squirrels Vacation.
Date: 12/30/2015 4:40 PM
Beautiful Illustrations!
The first thing I noticed and loved about "Five Minute Bedtime Stories" is the compact size. It is the perfect size for my five year old to hold as we are reading each night. He is in charge of turning the pages and he enjoys doing so to look at the brilliant graphics. The stories are each right around 5 minutes, although some have been a tad shorter but that makes them perfect for bedtime! The attached ribbon makes it easy to mark our place each night and we have been reading one or two stories each night. My son gives the characters and stories in this book two thumbs up!
Date: 1/23/2016 3:30 PM
Our favorite
This is my favorite Usborne book by far!  The stories are original and very clever.  They are short enough to keep the attention of my 3 year old, but are also interesting for us!  I love that there is no violence, just cute stories.
Date: 1/31/2016 3:42 PM
My daughter loves this book!
These stories are a great length and cute. I love the ease of the ribbon bookmark. At first I was worried that my 2-year-old daughter wouldn't like it since there aren't large, colorful illustrations on each page, but she asks for this book CONSTANTLY!
Date: 2/2/2016 7:29 PM
A Must Have
Some books like this have stories that are just too long and have too many words on each page. Because of that, I almost didn't buy this book. But then I saw the illustrations and knew I had to have it. They are so bold and bright. The characters are so cute. And there is just the right amount of text on each page. Quick, fun stories like this are perfect for bedtime. And nice collector books like this are great to have.
Date: 2/5/2016 1:14 AM
It really is the perfect Bedtime book!
My 4 year old Loves this book.  The pictures are so bright and engaging and the stories are fun and silly enough to keep him interested in each of the stories.  They are the perfect length for bedtime but my son asks to read 2 or 3 of them each night because they are so cute.  The quality is also great (a padded hard cover with a bookmark!)  Def. recommend for kids 3+ (my 2 y/o doesn’t stay as interested because there are some pages that don’t have many pictures on them).  
Date: 2/10/2016 8:15 PM
Not what I expected, but my daughter LOVES it!
This is a collection of really simple little stories about animal friends.  They're not very exciting or complicated and each one has 2-4 pages with no illustrations. I don't know what I expected, but it wasn't this, but...it doesn't matter because my 4 year old daughter absolutely LOVES it!  And yes, she loves the ribbon book mark, too :-)
Date: 6/3/2016 6:44 PM
Awesome for Vacations too!
We love this book for all of the reasons stated in other reviews, but it also came in really handy when we went on vacation for a week... I brought this and only 2 other favorites and it gave us plenty of bedtime story options to keep it interesting for all of us all week!
Date: 7/24/2016 9:13 PM
Expected more..
Don't get me wrong, cute stories.. but I, and my kids, are disappointed in the lack of illustrations. Actually surprised how many reviews comment on the illustrations. Yeah, the first page of each story has really nice illustrations.. but The 2nd and 3rd page of each story is nothing but text. My boys are 5 and 3 and lost interest once we hit the 2nd page. Again, the stories are cute if your kid can stay interested. My oldest is going into kindergarten this fall and maybe oce he starts reading himself, then this book will be interesting to him again. It does give relatively easy sentences and larger, easier to read text.
Date: 7/31/2017 10:31 PM
LOVE
This is a sweet collection of stories featuring adorable animals, with the theme of friendship woven into each story. The illustrations are bright, magical and ADORABLE. My 3 and 6 year old LOVE reading these at bedtime. They would sit and listen to the entire book. I love the mix of illustrations on some pages, yet some without. They stare off into space and just imagine the story in their mind - it's so sweet. Great baby shower gift!
Date: 8/13/2017 10:01 PM
Are you familiar with "Kipper"?
We've had this book for a while and while the stories are simple and there are pages of text without illustration, my daughter (now 5 1/2, but 3 1/2 or 4 when we got the book) not only never seemed to mind, she continually asked us to read it.  The book was set aside for a few months and then brought back into rotation.  My daughter got so excited and we started to read to read it again.  The first times reading it, I couldn't figure out what she liked so much about it, but  this time was different.  Simple stories about 2 animals meeting and becoming friends, about other animals exploring what there was beyond where they could see, Stories of imagination and positive outlook.  It was all there.  simple...and familiar.  Suddenly, I was reminded of all the episodes of Kipper (google it, if you're not familiar) we watched with both our girls.  Simple stories of a dog named kipper and his animal friends.

I have read a lot of reviews of many books on these sites and I think we often forget how little kids don't need complicated themes, sometimes the simplest stories and illustrations are just what they need to start the imagination going and feed the growth of that imagination and their brains.  It's us parents who want ALL the details, but these books aren't designed for US!  :-)
Date: 11/20/2017 12:56 PM
Delightful surprise!
I wasn’t sure what to expect. My 2.5 yo son loves picture books and color - and this has cute but limited illustrations. He loved it! And he still does 2 years later. The stories and images are engaging— and they truly are 5-minutes. The stories are really sweet. I think this prepared him for reading other stories that had lots of text and limited illustrations, like his children’s bible. It also introduced him to the idea of a bookmark— you read a little now, come back to read more later. He seeks out longer books so he can use a bookmark. But, the longer books also mean that he can beg for one more story and we just keep reading. I would give this more stars if I could!
Date: 6/27/2019 10:16 PM
Not enough pictures
The stories are short but there many of them have large pages of text with no illustrations. The lack of illustrations made my little kids lose interest pretty quickly. They are 4 and 2 now and their favorites are the 10-minute stories. If your kids are younger I suggest skipping this book and just getting the 10-minute stories.
Date: 4/16/2020 12:56 AM
Gentle and Positive
This is a refreshing set of stories that are perfect for pleasant thoughts at bedtime. No wolves or bad guys here. Just sweet stories of friendship and discovery.
Date: 5/1/2020 10:10 PM
One of Our Absolute Favorites!
Five-Minute Bedtime Stories is a book that my daughter loves all day, not just at bedtime! It's the book she requests before nap, before bed and when she has quiet reading time. All 3 of us enjoy the cute stories in this book and it has the cutest illustrations to complement each page. Highly recommend!!
Date: 5/2/2020 10:15 AM