Add your review
Existing reviews
Perfect Introduction to Anne!
The illustrations are lovely, and it's just the right length to introduce my young girls (6 and 7) to Anne Shirley! They're too little right now for the unabridged books, but this picture book has them excited to read the 'real' ones in the future! Very pleased!
Date: 4/12/2016 12:42 PM
A great beginning to a fantastic story!
I loved how the book was just long enough to keep my daughters attention as I introduced her to the amazing story of Anne Shirley! Growing up this was my favorite and it's great to be able to share it with my daughter without it being too long! The illustrations are beautiful too!!
Date: 5/10/2016 8:42 PM
Disappointing
I was really looking forward to introducing my daughter to Anne of Green Gables, but was disappointed in this picture book version. Also, the part where Anne confronts Mrs. Rachel Lynde is included with Anne's character yelling, "I hate you!" It's true to the original, but not something I want my 3 year old to pick up.
Date: 5/22/2016 7:47 AM
Beautiful, Child Appropriate Book!
I love Anne of Green Gables so I was so excited to begin to introduce my daughter to this incredible story! I love the cover (reminds me of my chapter books!). Illustrations are amazing & very true to the story line while staying age appropriate & limiting the Anne & Gilbert romance. I will say she'll probably enjoy it more in another year or so but glad I snagged it now!
Date: 5/10/2017 10:11 PM
Great illustrations and a good intro to Anne
I absolutely adored these books (an the PBS miniseries) as a kid and this was a good intro to the characters and the story for my almost-5-year-old daughter. She loves the pictures.  
Date: 5/24/2017 9:08 AM
Beautiful book
A note to all readers: This book, along with the other picture books of classics are very traditional. What you expect from the original is what you get. So, these may not be best for little readers.

However, it is a beautiful book with incredible illustrations, a nice soft hardcover and a perfect addition to your library. My son is 5 and loved this book.
Date: 6/5/2017 12:30 PM
I love this book!
I have always loved the books, films, and new show  Anne.  When I saw this book was available I couldn't wait to see the story and illustrations. I wasn't disappointed with the quality and the story line. I am so glad that I have this classic in my collection!
Date: 7/11/2017 4:57 PM
Inappropriate
This is the first Usborne book I have not liked. This book is recommended for ages 3+ and I find that to be an inappropriate age range. In the book her mothers friend puts her down - calling her ugly (which is ridiculous) - then Anne responds with shouting "I HATE YOU!", which is language we do not use. Anne's character is self-deprecating and its simply not a book I want my young daughter reading.
Date: 2/13/2018 4:20 PM
So disappointed!
First Usborne book I truely disliked. I grew up watching Anne and reading the books. I wanted to give this to a friend who also did and has twin red headed girls. However,  this version focuses on the negative, teasing,  temper, hating her hair and snapping responses. I don't really understand why this version focused on the negative, rather than showing how imaginative and fun at heart Anne is. This age range doesn't need to hear the 'I hate you' etc context. I had high hopes for it, but I can't give this as a gift.
Date: 10/23/2018 7:49 AM
Really disappointed
The illustrations in this book are so lovely, but the story elements used were so poorly chosen. There's very little emphasis on Anne's powers of imagination, friendship, courage, or loyalty and way too much on her temper and potential relationship with Gilbert. I wanted to love this because the illustrations are so nice, but I can't bring myself to read it to my daughter (4). Guess we'll just wait a little longer to read the real thing.
Date: 11/15/2018 10:30 AM
Love it!
I’ve loved Anne ever since I was in elementary school so I love sharing that love with my kids who are too small for the “real” books. I can see where some of the reviews are coming from, it definitely could have done with a little more of Anne’s imaginative and loving heart. But I’m glad that it shows Anne’s peppery temperament as that’s part of what made me love her in the first place. Yes, we see her lose her temper at Rachel Lynne, but we also hear how sorry she is and willing to apologize.
Date: 9/23/2019 3:30 PM
Interesting book
My 6-year old really liked this book and so did I.  It's a nice little summary of the Anne of GG story.  Be aware that Anne does say "I hate you" at one part, which is true to the original.  I don't think it's horrible, but can spark some good conversation and the next page she apologizes.  It has some more advanced vocabulary, which was good for a 6-year old.
Date: 6/23/2020 6:55 PM
Not for 3 year old
Some of the language used I was hoping would be more 3 year old appropriate but I'll keep the book away until my kids are older
Date: 11/16/2020 7:24 AM
They just summarized
There is a difference between summarizing and storytelling. This very much felt like a summary.
Date: 3/31/2021 10:27 PM