Add your review
Existing reviews
New favorite!
This is such a clever, creative, funny take on the fairy tale! Reminds me of a mix between The Princess Bride and some classic fairy tales! Our newest favorite and one your kids will love and laugh out loud to!
Date: 3/11/2019 10:55 AM
Great for all ages, great read aloud!
Read this with my 3 and 6 yr old and they were laughing the whole way through. Cleverly written, obviously by a parent, and I also appreciate the non-white main characters! We need more stories with diverse ethnicities (and dads!). A new favorite in our house!
Date: 3/13/2019 9:35 PM
The New Favorite
My 5 and 3 year old have been requesting this book multiple times a day EVERY day since it arrived.  I am so glad we added this to our home library!
Date: 3/30/2019 10:00 PM
Three Cheers for Diversity!
Reason #1 to love this book:  Jamie and his dad are not white.  It's so refreshing to see how Usborne and Kane Miller have expanded over the past several years, reflecting the people we see in our communities every day!

Reason #2:  Jamie's constant interruptions of the story remind me of how my 12-year-old STILL listens to bedtime stories!  This is how kids participate, and it's really funny to see it in print.

Reason #3:  It's simply hilarious!  "'Why couldn't the Princess rescue the Prince?' complained Jamie.  'Mom says Princesses in stories are rubbish.'"  I love how the story keeps changing, based on Jamie's "suggestions" and questions.  You have to check this out!
Date: 4/4/2019 10:57 AM
We LOVE this book!
This book had ALL of us laughing out loud!! I love the giggles and the closeness me and my kiddos enjoyed while reading this book. It's imaginative, playful, fun, interesting and a great length. I love that it is a tad longer then some story books. It gives the full effect of the story!
Date: 5/8/2019 1:54 PM
Read it and read it again!
We finished it and she immediately said AGAIN!!

What a cute story about all kinds of fairy tale characters. The banter between father and son is cute too.
Date: 5/11/2019 11:29 PM
A family MUST have!
This story is such a silly fun read, it had both my son (6) and myself laughing!

Many who reads this awesome book will relate with the many and frequent interruptions during bedtime stories. However, I love how it shows Jamie giving suggestions to his Dad and together,they create a fun silly story.

The illustrations are gorgeous. This is a family MUST have! perfect for any and all ages in my opinion. I will be gifting more of this book in the future <3
Date: 5/11/2019 11:55 PM
Finally a Prince book!
My 6 years old was so excited to have a book with a prince as the main character! Hoping for another since it had an open ending about the bears.
Date: 5/15/2019 8:55 PM
Really Enjoyable!
My kids 6 and 4 had the best reactions to every twist in the story.  I really like how it is written, and the illustrations are hilarious.  The kids were really laughing.  This one is a new favorite.  
Date: 6/7/2019 1:57 PM
A Rollicking Fun Story!!
This is easily my favorite new book on our shelf! This is the story of Jamie and his father, who is telling Jamie a bedtime story. Jamie keeps changing his mind about where he wants the story to go, keeping his father on his toes, switching things up at the drop of a hat, often in the middle of a sentence. It's so cute and funny! I love reading it out loud to my boys (ages 4 and 6) and they think it's hilarious, especially the jello part! A really great, unique story book!
Date: 10/4/2019 10:45 AM
Not our favorite
I had higher expectations for this book. The idea is cute, but it ends up just feeling chaotic. Doesn't really hold my kids' attention, which is honestly pretty rare. This is my first Usborne/Kane Miller purchase I wasn't happy with.
Date: 11/8/2019 7:52 PM
A New Bedtime Story Favorite!
My children (ranging from 2-10 years old) laugh themselves silly and are really engaged everytime I read this book with them during bedtime. I love everything about it...from the beautiful illustrations, to how relatable the main characters are, to the humorous additions the child character makes to his bedtime story. The heart of the story- as silly, imaginative, eclectic, and delightfully absurd as it is- is both a lesson on how poor communication and making assumptions can hurt others, but it's also about a father's love for his child. I highly recommend giving "The Prince and the Witch and the Thief and the Bears" a read!
Date: 12/6/2019 3:15 AM
My now 5 yr old loves this book.
This book is truly clever in its simplicity.  Anyone who has made up stories for their children can truly relate.  We can't wait for the sequal...which is what brought us to this page.  Must have!
Date: 4/28/2020 3:48 PM
This is a must read!
My three year old boy loves this story! It has quickly become a favorite in my house! My children love the fun and exciting, even a little silly, story paired with beautiful illustrations! I love that it has encouraged them to tell their OWN make believe stories.
Date: 6/15/2020 1:45 PM
Our favorite bedtime story!
I honestly had no idea when I bought this book how much we would love it! My 2 year old son brings me his "Jamie book" several times a day. His big brothers (11 & 13) will take turns reading it to him during the day and I read it sometimes 2-3 times before bed! I really hope they come out with a second book, because we need to know what happens to the bears! It's so much fun to do voices with book and it reminds me of telling stories with my dad as a child!
Date: 7/21/2020 10:15 AM
Absolutely Wonderful
My 9 year old was reading this to my 4 year old and she was laughing so hard. It really is a great book!!!  They love it! I highly recommend this one!!!!  
Date: 8/25/2020 5:19 PM
Great for a broad range of ages!
I have 5 kids, aged 14-1. This is one we frequently choose for family story time. My teenager thinks it's funny! I love reading it out loud, it's so easy to add personality to the characters and make it really fun!
Date: 9/1/2020 11:36 PM
Super funny
I love that the story has so many twists and turns and full of humor!
Date: 10/15/2020 8:40 PM
Do Your Littles a Favor...Indulge Your Shelf With This Book!
I read this first before reading to my four-year-old son, and I caught myself laughing out loud. When I read it to my son, we were both rolling! This story is so relatable and entertaining. Relatable in the sense that I think we have all experienced the flux of interruptions while storytelling—dads too—and we know we have to be flexible. The illustrations are gorgeous....they beg the reader to take a closer look. The diversity is a welcome change up. And I LOVE that “Dad” is the one telling the story.  Just an all-around awesome spark of fun and imaginative storytelling.
Date: 10/28/2020 11:45 PM
Happy after a few reads
At first I wasn't the biggest fan of this book, it did seem a little chaotic. But after reading it a few times I've really started enjoying it myself. My 3 year old loves it now too & it is turning into one of her favorites to read. The characters are great & she loves the illustrations. We always hold up our thumbs to measure the frog!
Date: 12/2/2020 10:07 PM
Adorable story of a bedtime story adventure
Ever have to make up a story on the fly? This Dad is a pro. I love reading this story to my kids. There's also sequel about the witch's frog!
Date: 2/19/2021 8:57 AM
So good!
My 3-year-old daughter is OBSESSED with this book and the ninja frog book following it! She loves the characters and loves to fill in the word she knows as we read. Such a fun story with awesome characters, and we love the illustrations as well! So cute for bedtime, or just story time in general.❤️
Date: 4/24/2022 10:32 PM
So good!
My 3-year-old daughter is OBSESSED with this book and the ninja frog book following it! She loves the characters and loves to fill in the word she knows as we read. Such a fun story with awesome characters, and we love the illustrations as well! So cute for bedtime, or just story time in general.❤️
Date: 4/24/2022 10:32 PM