Product reviews for All About Families

Write your own review
:
:
:
Bad Excellent
  • Only registered users can write reviews
 
Existing reviews
So diverse!
Love love this book. Shows all families, of all kinds. A much needed book that I'm so glad exists now!
Date: 7/29/2019 10:46 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Same sex families
This book shows many examples of same sex families and is completely inappropriate for innocent young children.
Date: 9/14/2019 4:50 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Same sex families
This book shows many examples of same sex families and is completely inappropriate for innocent young children.
Date: 9/14/2019 4:50 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Inclusivity is a Good Thing!
This book is absolutely fantastic. Yes it shows all different types of families, as it should. Kids will feel included whether they have a mom and a dad, two moms, two dads, living with grandparents, stepparents, adoptive parents, etc. It simply goes over what different families might look like. Different families have different traditions, different family trees, etc. Very age appropriate and I love the diversity in the characters. It should be in every classroom. Amazing book.
Date: 10/7/2019 6:47 AM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Inclusive and wonderful
This book is a wonderful example for children to see that families are different and varied and that is a good thing!
Date: 10/12/2019 12:20 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
All About Families--so diverse and great book!
I use this book with kids in my job as a school psychologist! Has lots of examples of different types of families--removes the stigma that some kids feel!
Date: 10/12/2019 7:06 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Love it! Inclusive!
Kids will feel included no matter what their family looks like. It’ll also open their eyes to other types of families and family structures. Maybe you have one parent, maybe a grandparent is raising you, maybe someone in your family has a disability, maybe you have two mommies, maybe you have step siblings... it’s brilliant. It makes me smile and it makes me feel warm and fuzzy.
Date: 11/17/2019 9:50 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
yay for inclusion!
So excited to have a book that shows a family like mine!
Date: 2/11/2020 1:46 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
All About Families
Surprised at you, Usborne, and disappointed.  Really bad idea to teach children that homosexuality and the like are OK.  There are only two sexes and only one kind of family in God's eyes.  Not hating people who disagree, but do not want this directed to my children/grandchildren.
Date: 3/1/2020 4:39 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Homosexuality and Crossdressing
I really wish there would have been some sort of communication that this book is LGBTQI+ friendly, I would NOT have purchased it.  I would never choose to purchase a book depicting the normalcy of homosexuality.  Books should not introduce this as if it's normal.  I plan on teaching my children about this in a respectful way as I cannot identify or understand this choice and I don't know this struggle but I will not normalize the unatural union of 2 moms or 2 dads.  Or a mom that likes to dress as if she were a man.  The book cover and description on the website are inconspicuous of the contents.  Please, Usborne, let buyers know if the content of a book is LGBTQI+ inclusive that way I know that book is not for my family.  
Date: 5/18/2020 11:18 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Nope.
Sorry, I have to agree with others.  Disappointed in Usborne for publishing a book that goes against the beliefs of so many in their customer base.  
Date: 5/28/2020 10:31 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Wonderful!
Reading the other "reviews" hurts my heart.  They aren't a review of the book, they're complaints about one thing a secular company in 2020 added to their book. I suppose they should have let people know in the description that this is learning about ALL families and not just ones considered acceptable by certain populations.  I feel that if you don't "agree" with same sex marriages then use that as a conversation piece with your children.  Personally, I'm so thankful Usborne Publishing (UK) and Usborne Bookd & More are dedicated to diversity and equality and I am thrilled to have this wonderful book in our collection!
Date: 6/4/2020 7:28 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
All families are important!
I looked into this book specifically because I hoped it would include same sex parents, and single parent households, etc.  I am a single mom, and my daughter has some friends with same sex parents, or are being raised by grandparents, so I'm glad all of these families are included!
Date: 6/15/2020 7:22 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
When they say ALL they mean ALL
Does it surprise me that a good percentage of reviews are complaining that families like mine (two moms) is included in this book? No. Does it still suck to read and hurt my feelings a little bit? Yes. With that being said, I was so thrilled with this book! I think it’s important to show kids how diverse the world is. I hope that this book brings love and understanding to the hearts of children everywhere so that they don’t grow up to leave scathing reviews about other people’s actual real lives. 💞 thanks Usborne for being inclusive.
Date: 6/17/2020 3:23 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
LOVE!!!!
I am so happy to see a book depicting ALL kinds of families! It was the reason I bought this book. Thank you for helping me teach my daughter to be a loving, accepting person. Hopefully she can one day help enlighten those leaving the negative reviews. Love is love. ❤️
Date: 7/6/2020 5:01 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Excited!
Can't wait to get this one - VERY excited to see that it is inclusive of ALL families! Thank you Usborne, for making sure all children can see themselves (and their parents) in your books!
Date: 7/6/2020 7:25 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
All About All Families
This book includes ALL kinds of families in as simple a way as your kiddo is likely to encounter them- just a parade of similarities & differences like real families. Need to explain divorce, step-kids, or blended families? It's in here. Want to make sure your child's multi-racial or LGBTQ? family is represented? This is the book. No opinions presented, just lots of beautiful families & simple child-centered explanations.
Date: 7/15/2020 3:29 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
LOVE IT
REMEMBER TO BE CHRISTIAN IS TO LOVE EVERYone
Thank you USBORNE for putting a book like this out there. The children that read books come from different types of families and knowing that their family is represented will make them feel HAPPY!!! Everyone needs to show more love in this world and less hate. Maybe we can STOP the cycle of hate, racism, anit-semetism, etc. Don't blame not knowing, if you look on the cover it shows a couple that is both male. I know that Usborne is a Christian based company, but to be Christian is to love everyone.
Date: 9/21/2020 9:52 AM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
A must have for all families!
Based on just the negative reviews alone I knew I HAD to buy this book! I am so excited to have a book in our library that shows what ALL realistic families look like - in real life. Now my child will not be shocked and confused when he encounters diversity in the real world. I love that Usborne has decided to add inclusive literature! You've got a customer for life in me!  
Date: 9/25/2020 8:56 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Be Frank
This book does include all families, including same sex marriage. If this goes against your moral values you will not want to purchase it for your little ones, or be prepared to have a discussion about it with them.

Values are based on family to family and this is inclusive, though it teaches it as if it is morally okay for all people where it should teach that it's morally okay for some people.

Being straightforward and frank about what this teaches is very important for Usborne as it shows honesty vs. dishonest use of children's books for education. I am personally disappointed I had to tell one of my good friends I was sorry I recommended the book since I did not know that the moral content included in the book was there based on the description. If the description would have said, "Includes families from all walks of life, including man, women; man man, and women women, as well as unidentified sexes..." I would have been prepared and respectfully moving on. Thank you in advance for changing the description and allowing shoppers to know what they are purchasing!
Date: 10/6/2020 12:05 AM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Wow!
Disappointed but not surprised that some people are upset that this book includes content about FAMILIES PLURAL, AND THEN have the audacity to give it a poor review because they have such a narrow view of what a family can be that they couldn't read between the lines. Maybe use your brain so that we don't have to read your complaints about how the homosexual agenda bamboozled you yet again by showing how a homosexual family is just as valid as a hetero one. Or maybe it's the interracial families that have y'all in a tizzy or the single parents. Either way, it is 2020, stop using your faith as an excuse for being hateful human garbage. Thanks for coming to my TEDTalk I'mma buy this book for all my friends, coworkers, acquaintances, and every library on the East Coast.
Date: 11/1/2020 8:52 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Very diverse
I know a lot of adults have a hard time with this book because of the diversity with same-sex parents. I personally decided that this book would be a great addition to our home specifically for that reason. This book has helped start the discussion that there are so many families out there that do not look like ours! I truly think talking to your kids about this helps with understanding when they are out in the real world.
Date: 12/14/2020 5:59 AM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Love this book!
I specifically bought this book because of the negative reviews regarding same sex families. Whether one likes it or not, same sex families exist and I want to teach my children to be kind and respectful of all families even if they look different than ours. This book does shows all different families of all shapes and sizes and I love having discussions with my 4 and 6 year old about those differences. We are very traditional (mom/dad/kids all in same house family), but this book explains several different dynamics (step parents, grandparents as care givers, etc.) that give my kids a glimpse into the worlds of some of their friends and cousins. I love this book!
Date: 12/14/2020 9:13 AM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Great book!
I'm so glad this book shows all the types of families that exist in our world!
Date: 1/16/2021 7:09 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
A Must Have
I love this book so much.  Being able to introduce many types of families to our children is important to me, and this book helps us start doing that!
Date: 1/26/2021 2:13 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Why we need this book!!
Comments like the previous one are why this book is so important for our children! Same sex families are not new and certainly not going anywhere so it’s time to get used to it and educate ourselves and most importantly our children to not be as ignorant as these comments! Thank you for this book, it truly is a gift. All families deserve love!! I think the book forgot one type of family that no little kid should ever have to face! The family of hate and prejudice and righteousness.
Date: 2/6/2021 1:18 AM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Thank you!
This is exactly the book we need. Families come in all types of configurations.  Teaching understanding and celebrating differences is crucial.  It saddens me that there are negative reviews out there because of the LGBTQ+ representations in the book.  We need to move beyond senseless hate based in ignorance and fear.
Date: 3/17/2021 8:49 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
LOVE
Love this book.  Depicts LOVE in every way.
Date: 3/22/2021 8:15 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Great inclusive title
The description says "Families come in all shapes and sizes and from all sorts of backgrounds"  It doesn't say "Families only come in one type of a mom and dad" therefore I'm not sure why people are upset about this book when it is exactly as described.

Families these days are very diverse and kids should see in books the same types of families they see in real life.  Thank you for including this in your catalog.  
Date: 3/25/2021 1:48 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Unfortunately deciding not to purchase
It is sad USBORNE is going away from the values of Christian families and the truth in the Word of God the Bible.
Date: 6/12/2021 5:32 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Great book!
We love this book! We love seeing families that look like ours and families that look completely different from ours! So much great info and adorable illustrations! Definitely want to buy the others in this series!
Date: 6/30/2021 4:02 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Great Book but ONE complaint
Wonderfully diverse book.

My one complaint is the inclusion of heterosexual families. Too many examples and is not appropriate for innocent young children. Also totally disappointed at you Usborne for including the spectrum of identities and sexualities. There is only one type of family in God's eyes, the type that loves each other regardless of who they are. Really bad idea to teach children that heterosexuality and the like are OK.
I wish there was some sort of communication that books were LGBTQI+ friendly, so I would know to buy 2 of them. One for my family, and one for a family who refuses to see that love can come in all sizes, shapes...and genders. 😉
Date: 7/13/2021 10:42 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Very much looking forward to this book
Our family is very diverse! Very diverse. We have same sex grandparents, divorces, step and half siblings, and some relatives who have alternate gender identities. While my husband and I are a hetrosexual married couple, our son was born into a family aboutbwhich he will certainly have questions. This will give a great place to talk about it and set him up to be an open and caring man.

And to the reviewers who are displeased with the book - that's your choice and that's fine.

To the reviewers who are upset at Usborne over the book - it is not up to Usborne to keep you happy and to perpetuate your toxic perspective. They have every right (even according to the US Construction) to put out whatever book they want and if you don't like the book, return it.

If I can, I will update my review once the book gets here. Very excited!
Date: 7/25/2021 2:43 AM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Inclusive & Diverse!!
I absolutely love how inclusive this book is! Kids will feel included because they can relate to at least one of the families in this book whether they have a mom and a dad, divorced parents, two moms, two dads, living with grandparents, stepparents, adoptive parents, etc. It educates the reader about what different loving families might consist of.  This book empowers children by giving them examples of the many living families in the world!  Families have different cultures, norms, traditions, heritage/ancestral roots, etc. It is important that all children appreciate and understand that the only “mold” families should fit into is a family created from love! We should be teaching children to accept & appreciate everyone’s differences and understanding that our friends’ & classmates’ families may be different from their own and that’s ok! In fact, it’s a great opportunity for children to ask questions and learn about diversity! The world is full of beautifully diverse people and this book provides readers of great examples that they can relate to and appreciate! EVERY PERSON on earth has some divergent aspect in their heritage, ethnicities, DNA & family history whether they acknowledge and appreciate it or not! As the description states: "Families come in all shapes and sizes and from all sorts of backgrounds"! The world would be boring if we were all the same!! Thank you Usborne for having a book that is inclusive so that I can teach all the kiddos in my life to accept and appreciate everyone!
Date: 8/10/2021 11:24 AM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
disappointed
I'm disappointed that Usborne has a book talking about LGQT+. I am not happy with the company for pushing this agenda and WILL NOT be recommending this to my customers. If books are continued to be published in this theme I will NOT work with Usborne anymore.
Date: 10/8/2021 11:45 AM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
disappointed
I'm disappointed that Usborne has a book talking about LGQT+. I am not happy with the company for pushing this agenda and WILL NOT be recommending this to my customers. If books are continued to be published in this theme I will NOT work with Usborne anymore.
Date: 10/8/2021 11:46 AM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Thank you, Usborne!
The negative reviews are what prompted me to purchase this - what a wonderful addition! It gives my son and I so much to talk about, as he has friends who come from all kinds of different families - and will someday make his own! I am sorry that some of the homophobic comments here may be hurtful to others - thanks to Usborne for including this and other titles that celebrate the diversity of God's kingdom.
Date: 10/12/2021 6:49 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Thank you for including my family!
Love that this book includes ALL types of families and their bonds!
Date: 10/17/2021 9:35 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Great Introductory Book for Kids!
Wonderful introductory book on family structures and inclusive of nearly every type we’ve described to our children since birth. Very pleased with my purchase and have purchased for many friends with newborns and many teachers for their classrooms!
Date: 12/28/2021 7:56 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Absolutely love
Absolutely love that this book is actually diverse! I love that it includes ALL families including LBGTQ families!
Date: 3/6/2022 2:23 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Glad to see Diversity
I was very impressed with Usborne that they have included books on diversity.
Date: 5/20/2022 5:07 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)